top of page
  • Sarcastic Fish

Self Sustainability Lost

Updated: Aug 7, 2019

I spent three days in my new job and before I got kicked out I saw horrible things. So now I am not cleaner anymore. Hopefully they will contact me from this other company where they offered me the job too. It would be also cleaning. Hopefully better.


This one which I did for three days was a work for the university. I was supposed to recieve training. I showed flexibility at the interview and they offered me to start immediatly the next day I accepted. The lady who was teching me was a local. She showed me how to clean the kitchens and already during the first day I did not have very good impression of her. She was just going on, like a robot. Only correct way to do the things was her way and if I did not read her thoughts properly she got annoyed and impatient. And come on - it is cleaning. It is not like I haven't done that before.


Second day it become way worse. Not only she increased the thought-reading demands instead of explaining properly what her idea of the cleaning style looked like. She became increasingly rude and bossy, constantly reminding me that I needed to be way quicker even though I honestly did my best. In the same time she almost did not give me the chance to actually work, because in the minute she asked me for something she immediately changed her mind and did it herself. Nothing was done correctly for her, she just kept going her own song and dance without actually noticing me. When she started to be really rude, I firmly but politely asserted myself. She immediately became silent and eventually fearful and polite. Typical bully, I thought.


The worst crises came when I was about to clean unbelievely dirty bathroom. To my shock she explained me that she does not wear gloves and with naked finger showed me the most dirty places, while actually touching them! She literally stuck her finger into the dirty toilet!! I almost throw up watching this!! Than she accused me from skipping cleaning toilet while in real I was waiting for getting a toilet brush. She explained me that I did not need toilet brush because I could do it wih the same cloth which I use for bedroom. What - the - hell??!! I refused to believe that we did not have in our equipment the toilet brush and after I expressed my shock for the third time, she just silently brought me one. I could not believe she actually really asked me to clean the toilet with the cloth I would be using for the desk and bed in the next rooms. And that she instructed me to have this cloth in the same bucket with the bathroom brush and super dirty water for mopping the floor. Just one big disgusting hell. I used to work as cleaner for six months before, while studying my degree here, and I am more than sure, that this is not in accordance with health and safety rules. Not even close.


And the best part was about to come. After our shift was over she went with me to the reception and first tried to signalize some suddle gestures to our manager. When manager did not understand it, she just told her in front of me that I was too slow for the work, that I forgot to clean the toilet and that I 'did not know how to communicate properly'. I was in shock. She was such a dirty liar! And how she rushed to tell her side of story first! Manager just looked at me like I just ate her kitten and she said that I needed to be quicker or they would not employ me. So I explained that it was not like this, that I am doing my best but first I need to get into the routine, that she is working uneffectively cleaning everything after me even though it does not need to, that I did not get proper equipment for a job she asked me to do and that from us two I am the one wo actually communicates the issues immediately and directly with her. Manager did not believe me.


The next day I wanted to talk with this schooling woman and express how much offended I was from her misleading and manipulative report. But she was acting super polite since the morning. In weirdly nice and fearful way. She also left me to work alone and I almost did not need to come to contact with her. So I thought that probably she had bad conscious and I decided to leave the issue and concentrate on the work. It was super-hard because I got room which was dirty as hell, literally. I spent quite a time here but I left it in a perfect state. And than they just told me not to come back anymore. Unbelievable. I should have given her feedback on her behaviour before and not be such a naive idiot. They just tricked me. But good. I would probably leave anyway because I do not want to catch hepatitis. I told it to my boyfriend and he is now making a complaint. He also knows people from Student's Union which can make official and serious complaint about health and safety standards. Hopefully that will change something.


From European Central Bank they answered me that they don't want me. Another rejection. But whatever. Let's move on.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Real Life Battles

Well, so the things keep moving. First I have to note hat I am on borrowed time in finding the job, because in approximately two months I will run out of money and because it is not very effective to

Job Searching Amok

I am sitting in the little front garden and drinking white chocolate. I will regret it soon, I have slight lactose intolerance and this milky drink will definitely take its revenge on me. But who woul

bottom of page